Board of Directors

Livres Canada Books is governed by a Board of Directors. Members volunteer their time and expertise to lead the strategic planning and approval of policies and operations.

The Board is composed of seasoned business professionals of organizations and enterprises representing all sectors of the Canadian publishing industry.

Equally divided between English and French-language publishers, Board members are affiliated with the Association of Canadian Publishers (ACP), the Association nationale des éditeurs de livres (ANEL), the Association of Canadian University Presses (ACUP) and the Canadian Publishers’ Council (CPC). Two professional advisors who are not publishers but are familiar with the Canadian publishing industry also sit on the Board.

The Board oversees five committees responsible for specific areas of service: Executive and Finance, Export Expertise, Nominating and Governance, Business Plan, and Frankfurt 2020.



Frédéric Gauthier, Éditions de la Pastèque (ANEL)


Semareh Al-Hillal, Groundwood Books (ACP)


Simon Payette, Éditions Chouette (ANEL)


John Yates, (University of Toronto Press/ ACUP)

Executive Director

François Charette


Carole Boutin, Groupe Librex (ANEL)

Philip Cercone, McGill-Queen’s University Press (ACP)

Bianca Drapeau, Marquis (Professional Advisor)

Gillian Fizet, Canada FBM2020 (Observer)

Noah Genner, BookNet Canada (Professionnal Advisor)

Patrick Poirier, Presses de l’Université de Montréal

Antoine Tanguay, Éditions Alto (ANEL)

Margie Wolfe, Second Story Press (ACP)

Andrew Wooldrigde, Orca Book Publishers (ACP)