The First Day

A Story of Courage

Author/Illustrator/Editor: Katherena Vermette and Irene Kuziw

Makwa has to go to a new school… and he doesn’t want to. How will he face his first day? The First Day is one book in The Seven Teachings Stories series. The Seven Teachings of the Anishinaabe—love, wisdom, humility, courage, respect, honesty, and truth—are revealed in seven stories for children. Set in urban landscapes, Indigenous children tell familiar stories about home, school, and community.

HighWater Press
DateISBNBISAC CodeThemaRights available
20149781553795216World rights available
EnglishPaperback / softback6 x 8C$09.9524